The European Association for the Study of Diabetes Eye Complications Study Group (EASDec) was proposed by Professor José G. Cunha-Vaz, University of Coimbra, Portugal, at the EASD meeting in Lisbon in 1990. Professor Eva Kohner became the first president. During the first years most members were ophthalmologists and the dominant issue was how to screen for diabetic retinopathy. After this first period the focus widened into research of the pathogenic mechanisms and development of diabetic retinopathy.

The EASDec is a joint forum for ophthalmologists and diabetologists comprising presentations and discussions all aimed at increasing the understanding of diabetic retinopathy, its development, diagnosis and treatment. Annual meetings take place at different locations in Europe with the participation of 150-200 active scientists from different fields of study of diabetic retinopathy.

The group is affiliated officially to the European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD). Organisation is undertaken by a board with 5 members. The president represents the EASDec at the annual meeting of EASD Executive Committee members (Presidents of EASD Study Groups). EASDec members include all the participants of the previous meetings.

Past Presidents

2013-2015 Professor Massimo Porta (Italy)

2010-2012 Professor Ann Katrin Sjølie (Denmark)

2007-2009 Professor Pierre-Jean Guillausseau (France)

2004-2006 Professor Francesco Bandello (Italy)

2001-2003 Professor Carl-David Agardh (Sweden)

1998-2000 Professor Henrik Lund-Andersen (Denmark)

1995-1997 Professor Gaetano Crepaldi (Italy)

1991-1994 Professor Eva Kohner (Great Britain)


W3C standards logos

site developed by Netsima Ltd »